Life As It Happens by Anton Chekhov


Anton Pavlovich Chekhov (1860 – 1904) was a Russian playwright, writer, and doctor. Known best for his plays, he had also written a great multitude of short stories for and about people of all ages and all walks of life. Life as it happens is a selection of just such stories and novellas. From sad to ridiculous, to dramatic, to funny, by way of tragic or bitter-sweet – there is something here for everyone.

This collection includes the following works:

  • The Order of Anna
  • Feminine Happiness
  • The Lady with the Little Dog
  • Chameleon
  • Birthday
  • Two Scandals
  • Sweetheart
  • The Duel
  • Living Merchandize
  • Princess
  • Beauties
  • Maria Ivanovna
  • The Bet
  • The Kiss
  • The Student
  • Forgot!
  • The Mask
  • Proposal
  • A Joke
  • A Man in a Case
  • Boys