Moonlit Tales of the Macabre – anthology 02


We, all of us, are hard-wired to fear the unknown, and what is more unknown than death, or rather, what happens after death? While each of the world’s philosophies has its own interpretation of the subject, there is really no telling for certain. In the six stories that follow, the authors not only consider death as such, but also whether there are things worse than death.

This collection includes the following works:

  • The Wooden Guest or a Tale About a Doll That Came to Life and Monsieur Nodder by Vladimir Odoyevsky
  • The Sinner from Toledo by Anton Chekhov
  • The Eve of Ivan Kupala by Nikolai Gogol
  • The Silver Wolf by Alexander Kuprin
  • The Chickadee by Alexei Tolstoy
  • An Incident at the Apartment of Madam Cerize by Alexander Grin